Posted by: Mark | November 18, 2008

Blammos and David Foster Wallace

I stumbled upon a local San Francisco band called Blammos, and I think they are pretty damn cool. I came across their site recently because for the 2nd straight year, they are challenging themselves to make a different video for every day of November. Some of them are carefully constructed music videos, while some of them are rather bizarre montages compiled by the band. Two of the band members are filmmakers, and so as they point out on their site/blog, it’s a great way to keep the creative juices flowing.

After just finishing a video with Brent, I think it’s really sweet that this band is doing this, and I’m particularly obsessed right now with their video about David Foster Wallace called “Living With David Foster Wallace.” The tune is melodic, sweet, and catchy, and also has some great lyrics. David Foster Wallace, arguably my favorite writer who re-energized my interest in reading after being burnt out on it post-college, took his life on September 12, 2008. It was a major blow to the literary world, and I still am bummed when I’m reminded that I don’t have any more of his amazing writing to look forward to. With this in mind, the repeated chorus reflects the way the band offers a way to deal with his suicide:

“And. And but so. And but so then. We all fell in love with living again.”

What a beautiful way to process such a discouraging event. Thanks Blammos for such a killer tune, for putting out great videos, and for getting me excited about my local scene again. Looking forward to seeing you guys live.

Responses

  1. Wow! Thanks so much! This is all so great to hear!

    Do you want to direct a BLAMMOS DOES NOVEMBER video? We’ve still got 12 days left! And damnit, I think I’m running of ideas…

  2. […] and Me! After posting about Blammos and their video about Living with DFW, I’ve been in touch with the band. With only a week left in their ambitious project to make a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

