Posted by: Mark | January 8, 2009

A Proposal (as in marriage) on Twitter

Today two strangers that I don’t know, but whom I follow on twitter, got engaged, and in a very unconventional way. As far as I can tell, the guy @grobertson proposed to the girl @film_girl over twitter, and she said yes, again over twitter. They then proceeded to celebrate and be congratulated and in general bask in the overall engagement glow, all over twitter.

Here are the screen shots (not in order)

grobertsonquestion

filmgirls

yes

And that’s how it went. At first, and I’ll be honest, I heard the condemning voice of some of my skeptical friends and family members who would have basically said that a proposal like that is the lamest thing they’ve ever heard of. And at first, I kind of felt the same way. I’m married, I put a lot of time and effort into how I proposed to my wife, and to see a guy do it in the equivalent of a text message, to be broadcast to strangers on the internet, and for her to say yes in the similar fashion, was in many ways the epitome of the type of material that so many people criticize about Social Media in the first place. Like I said, I felt that for a little while.

But the more I’ve thought about it, the more I’ve realized that who gives a crap. The two of them are in love. Isn’t that what marriage is all about? The state of California went through an electoral nightmare because of Prop 8–and defining who gets to be married to who. And most who voted No took this argument: who am I to judge their love?

So yeah, they may have gotten engaged on twitter, and that may not be my definition of romantic, and a lot of stodgy critics will talk smack about it, but who cares. They’re both connected bloggers for whom this type of media is literally their passion, their life, and as far as I can infer (and I know pretty much nothing about these people) it is the way that they met in the first place. So why would I get all worked up about dwelling on whether or not that fits in my definition of romantic. I wouldn’t want anyone to spend pointless energy and effort on judging my proposal.

So @grobertson and @film_girl, congrats to the both of you guys. In fact, congrats to all those out there who are engaged, who are publicly making a long-term commitment to each other to share their love. Being engaged is fricking awesome! (Well, of course, the wedding planning mostly sucks, but yeah, otherwise it’s awesome.)

I write about this because I’ve been thinking a lot about the pro’s and con’s of broadcasting your life on the internet. And honestly, I don’t think I need to go too in-depth about it. I think this example, and my reaction, speak for itself. The internet is the best living example of democracy. Everyone can potentially be a star, everyone’s vote can count, and everyone’s voice can be heard. At least on the internet you can to a more manageable degree control your own reputation.

So once again congrats. I am sure that if anyone is interested there will be ample opportunities to learn more about their engagement, wedding planning, and wedding online.

Responses

  1. I agree. Right on to the unconventional ones that push the boundaries of normalcy.

    If twitter has the ability to spread more love in this world then more power to it.

  2. Thought this was all a joke until I saw it on Digg this morning – certainly a benchmark of digital progression, right? The question of whether that’s a good or bad progression, for me at least, still remains…great post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

