Posted by: Mark | August 13, 2009

Lobos Creek Restoration

Well hello there. It’s been quite a while. I’ve been away from this blog for the whole summer, updating the world from skatingacrossamerica.com, which, if you haven’t checked it out, hurts my feelings. It was one helluva summer with the road-trip of a lifetime.

But all good things must end, even epic road trips, and so here I am, back in the old Haraka Baraka saddle, and I thought I’d re-start things with a good old fashioned movie.

Michael Stewart is a San Francisco resident, surfer, and member of the Surfrider Foundation. He lives in the Presidio, which is the home of Lobos Creek, the last free-flowing creek in the city. It empties out into the San Francisco Bay at Baker Beach, a popular spot on sunny days. Michael initiated a creek restoration project, and spent the last year working to clean up a section of the creek, and turn it from a trash-filled dump to a gorgeous little spot for relaxation and reflection. His efforts are a pretty impressive example of the power of an individual to take responsibility within a community, and should inspire other surfers and city-dwellers to take a bit more ownership for the environmental condition of their own neighborhoods and surf spots. Michael’s an inspiring guy to hang out with, and his passion for the creek is contagious. I was hoping to capture some of that energy in the video I made for him, and I hope you enjoy it.

I’m siked to be back at my blog

Leave a Reply

Categories

